Thankful for this Year’s Harvest

As each day passes, and it becomes more obvious that winter is well on its way, I become increasingly thankful for this year’s harvest.  The Lord has blessed us greatly with so many new experiences, colors and tastes from the garden that I cannot begin to tell you about all of them, but I will share just a little.

As some of you know, our daughter hopes to become an organic farmer someday, and this year because of the Lord’s provision, she was able to more than double the size of her garden and plant some new and interesting crops.  One of the crops that we found especially neat and tasty are tomatillos (a Mexican husk tomato).  We had so many that we were able to can quite a few pints of green tomatillo salsa, but then what?  I had never used tomatillos before, and they are nothing like a regular tomato.

Well, then I found Tyler Florence’s recipe for Chicken Enchiladas with Roasted Tomatillo Chile Salsa.  They are some of the best chicken enchiladas we’ve ever had.  Of course, I had to make a few adaptations.  For instance, we used the canned salsa instead of making the salsa from the recipe and baked chicken  breasts instead buying a deli roasted chicken, etc.   This enchilada recipe is “hands down” my hubby’s new favorite, and I hope that your family will enjoy it as well.  Thank you Food Network for posting the recipe!

P.S.  I think we’ll try it with some left over Thanksgiving turkey.

Comments are closed.

  • Our Website Home

